Home > Copenhagen > Amalienborg

Amalienborg is a complex of four palaces from the end of 18th century, which are now the main royal family seat. The identical, classicizing buildings are surrounding the octagonal square, and are separated from pier by so called waterfront gardens.

Built in 1760, at the place of queen's Sophie Amalie palace, they were a part of Frederiksstaden, new part of developing city. They were first designed as a residences of four noble families, and it influenced of their first names – Moltke’s, Levertzau's, Brockdorff's and Schack's. After the fire of Christiansborg in 1794, the complex became a royal residence, and during the times names was changed into Christian VII's, Christian VII's, Frederick VIII's, Christian IX's.
On the middle of the square stands equestrian statue of king Frederick V, founder of Amalienborg, and the main street of complex is called Frederiksgade. It leads from Marble Church (officially Fredericks church) to the fountain on waterfront. The opposite side of the canal is dominated by a new Opera House, creating an axis with a Frederiksgade.

« back


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK