Klaipeda castle

 

Home > Klaipeda > Klaipeda castle


The Klaipeda castle was built by a Teutonic Knights, under the name Memelburg, in 1252. It was an important military point in 14th and 15th centuries, during the wars with pagan Lithuania, and later against the Swedish and Russian army.


Firstly wooden, was changed into stone one year later, then rebuilt many times, to adjust to changes of warfare. The biggest reconstruction took place in 16th century, with help from French engineers. The castle turn into the first bastion in the region, with one main tower and five smaller towers around it. The last known reconstruction took place in 1763, later castle lost its meaning and was gradually demolished.
Archaeological works in late 60s, result in opening sight to visitors, and in 2002 in the remains of the castle was opened the museum.





« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK