Tiskeviciu’s Palace

 

Home > Klaipeda > Tiskeviciu’s Palace


The Polish family Tyszkiewicz (Tiskievicius), was the owner of Palanga from 1824, and they lived here until 1940. They founded the first pier, the church of st. Marie, and many smaller improvement, and made Palanga the most popular sea resort of 19th century.


The Tiskievicius Palace lies at the southern part of the city, surrounded by amazing Botanic Park with the most beautiful part – the rose garden. The Park was designed in 1897, immediately after finishing Palace. The main architect of the garden was Eduard Andre, famous French botanist.
The Palace itself was built in neo-renaissance style, and was inhabited as long, as family Tiskievicius lived in Palanga. After the war, in 1957, it was renovated, and nowadays it hosts an Amber Museum, with the on of the biggest collection of that kind. In 15 rooms are presented both – the scientific information about amber, as well as the most precious jewellery, from 16th century to the modern works. As Amber is a stone made from resin, it sometimes „trapped” the insects and small plants. The beautiful examples of that process, called inclusions, are the biggest part of the exhibition.





« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK