House of the Brotherhood of Black Heads


Home > Tallinn > House of the Brotherhood of Black Heads

The Brotherhood of Black Heads was a Guild gathering wealthy, unmarried merchants. The name origin from a patron saint, Moorish St. Mauritius, whose profile was on a guild's coat of arms.

Existing from 1399, they moved to the new residence in 1500s. Almost hundred years later they started a huge reconstruction, and the building gained its nowadays, renaissance appearance. The most colourful accent, green and red doors, were added in 1640.
The house is now open to public, there are also organized concerts and other events. The interiors of two-naved, voulted hall is perfect for such occasion.
The Blackheads are famous also from founding the first public Christmas Tree in Europe, and placing it on a Town Hall Square.

« back


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK