Kadriorg Palace

 

Home > Tallinn > Kadriorg Palace


In 1718 Peter the Great built the Palace for his wife Catherine, in a short distance from Tallinn. Kadriorg is now one of city district, and the palace surrounded by a park is popular place of Tallinnian strolls.


The present building of a palace is a result of renovation in 1827. Two storey building is rather modest, for a Tsars standards, but together with French garden create very picturesque site.
After Estonia gain independence, the Palace was a residence of president. Later, the Presidential Palace was built nearby, and Art Museum called KUMU (KunstiMuuseum) was located in Kadriorg Palace. Nowadays, the branch of KUMU is still located in palace, but the main building was built farther in Kadriorg Park.
The Park itself deserve attention. It has French part just in front of palace, with perfectly trimmed hedges and flowerbeds. It connects Kariorg Palace with Presidential Palace. The majority of this big park is in more natural, English style, although in the northern part the Japan Garden was opened in 2011.





« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK