Home > Tallinn > Tallin

The first fortress on Toompea hill was built in 1050. The city around it several times changes its name and ruling kingdoms. The longest it was known as a Reval, form 1230, when it gained city rights, till 1918, when it was finally called Tallinn.

When in 1285 Reval joined Hanseatic League, it was important region centre with one of the longest city walls of that time. When the city was bought by Teutonic Knights, they replaced older castle with bigger construction. The castle was reconstructed later, but some medieval features are still visible in the building, which is now Estonian Parliament.
17th century brought Northern War and a domination of Russians, which ended only in 1991. The majority stay Protestants, but Orthodox minority grew. As a result, interesting mixture of sacral buildings can be admired in today Tallinn. On the same street lies Orthodox St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and Gothic, Lutheran, St. Mary Cathedral.
In 1997 the Old Town of Tallinn was inscribed on a UNESCO World Heritage List. One of the reasons are well preserved town walls, which now give shelter to craftsmen selling traditional clothes, toys and food. The main square is dominated by a Town Hall from 1404, the oldest in Northern Europe. The unique, Hanseatic atmosphere is strengthen by a street sellers dressed in a medieval costumes.

« back


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK