Tallin Old Town


Home > Tallinn > Tallin Old Town

Tallinn Old Town is marked by well preserved city walls, which oldest parts origin back to 13th century. Until 19th century the term consisted only the lower part, without Toompea Hill, but nowadays the districts are joined together, as both are historical core of Tallinn.

The Lower Town has very complex Hanseatic atmosphere. Town Hall square, marked around Town Hall from 1404, has everything some would need from medieval square. Some of shops and restaurants around it are decorated in historical style, and in summer there are street sellers dressed in a 15th century costumes. Between historical buildings of Lower Town rise steeples of Dominican monastery, Holy Spirit Church and St. Nicholas church. With the non-sacral part of Tallinn life are connected three interesting buildings. The Great Guild Hall was a main seat of Tallinn Guilds, and now is hosting Estonian History Museum. The second one, House of the Brotherhood of Black Heads, has now impressing renaissance façade, and serve as a place for concerts and other events. And finally, close to Town Hall square, there is the longest working pharmacy, opened in 15th century and operated by the same family for over four hundred years.

« back


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK